Question: What are the possible penalties for a DUI conviction?

Answer: First Offense DUI: If convicted of a first offense DUI, the penalty may include anywhere between 48 hours to 6 months in jail, a fine between $390 to $1,000 plus penalty assessments*, and an alcohol course ranging from 3 months to 9 months in length. The Court also has the power to impound your car, require an IID (Ignition Interlock Device), and take other additional action. If there is a convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DUI, it becomes part of your criminal record. I would recommend calling a DUI attorney in your area to discuss your case in more detail. If your case is in southern California, call me at 818-336-1384 for a free consultation. It helps that he has never been charged with anything in the past to the extent that potential penalties for a 2nd or 3rd DUI are much more severe than a 1st offense.
Phil Hache,
Criminal Defense & DUI Attorney
www.1DUILawyer.com
Handling DUI and Criminal matters throughout Courts in Southern California including Van Nuys, CA, San Fernando, CA, Burbank, CA Glendale, CA Pasadena, CA Metropolitan Court, Bellflower, CA, Alhambra, CA, Malibu, CA, Compton, CA, Santa Clarita, CA, Airport Court, Chatsworth, CA Inglewood, CA, Los Angeles, CA and other Courts